Kingsman: The Secret Service Review

Can life get more interesting than this? I mean really. We wake up having a crap job and one day, someone decides to offer you a career in spy work that leaves you ultimately deciding whether or not to justify being a savior of the planet. Things happen though…especially for these characters. How unorthodox is Kingsman that it allows you to enjoy the film much further for its narrative storytelling, fast-paced entertaining action sequences, and comedic filter placed over. The world is introduced to Taron Egerton who plays the character, Gary “Eggsy” Unwin, who is the film’s star as well as new upcoming actor in his own right from Wales. With the assistance of Samuel L. Jackson and Colin Firth, one of the finest gentleman from the Brit Pack, this film delivers iconic hilarity towards British culture, homages to classic spy films (i.e. James Bond), and a villain with a lisp that is more hysterical than a nerd from the 80’s.

Story Introduction 

The films begins with a mission being carried out by the Kingsman who are out to stop a terrorist cell. Galahad aka Harry (Colin Firth) threatens the terrorist but he is tricked and luckily one of the Kingsman gives his his life to save the rest of the members. Learning of his mistake, Harry pays a visit to their fallen member’s family and gives them solace that he lived up to his bravery. Harry meets the son, Eggsy, and gives him a coin with a symbol stating he can contact him when the time is right. We flash forward to Professor James Arnold (played wonderfully, but briefly by Mark Hamill) being held captive soon rescued by Lancelot, one of the Kingsman, and attempting to free the professor. He’s soon killed by Gazelle, the right-hand to Richmond Valentine, the antagonist of the film. His plans involve a scale of world domination to such extent he’s willing to “reboot the world and save the planet”.

Valentine: Mankind is the virus, and I’m the cure.

Valentine’s motives stretch to the Kingsman who search for not only a new Lancelot but how to stop the mad man’s plans from coming to past. With an arsenal of power, Eggsy, Merlin, and Roxy go head-to-head with Valentine and Gazelle to stop the elimination of planet earth.

For this film, I won’t give away too much because the film NEEDS to be watched by those who just love a good fun movie. Not the nitpicking critics similar to yours truly…okay, that’s a lie, I’m not even a proper critic because I didn’t go into major detail. Tee hee.

Kingsman Tailor: Perfect timing. Gentleman’s just finished.

[Valentine and Gazelle step out of Fitting Room 1]

Valentine: Mr. DeVere. What a coincidence. You are totally the reason I’m here. When you left my house, I was thirsting for that dope-ass smoking jacket you had on. And since I’m going to Royal Ascot, apparently you need one of these penguin suits. Here I am. What are you doing here?

[Valentine shakes hands with Eggsy]

Valentine: What’s up, man? Richmond Valentine.

Harry Hart: This is my new valet. I was just introducing him to my tailor.

Valentine: Another coincidence. So am I.

Harry Hart: Did you have any chance to think further on my proposal?

Valentine: Most definitely. My people will be getting in touch with you very soon. I guarantee it.

Harry Hart: A word of advice: Ascot requires top hat. I might suggest Lock & Co. Hatters, St. James.

Valentine: ‘Lox’, as in smoked fish?

Harry Hart: As in ‘locked up’.

Valentine: Oh. I have trouble understanding you people sometimes. You all talk so funny.

Why am I watching this film? 

Suffice to say, this film has been on my mind for at least when they released its teaser. There was an unknown reason as to why but I just had a good feeling about the film. I didn’t realize at all these three things: 1) Matthew Vaughn was involved. 2) The plot line of this film at all. 3) The craziness involved with this project and that it is a comic book film…COMIC BOOK!!!!!!

With a homage to a lot of classic spy films (something we haven’t seen as much in this day and age…at least real good ones besides James Bond), I can insert to people who are fans of Vaughn’s previous work (Kick-Ass, X-Men: First Class, Snatch, Stardust) will enjoy this film for its manic, realistic dialogue, and recognition of pleasing audiences with original source material mixed in with formalism embellished within this film. I would take it a step further by saying there is another reason why I love this film but I’ll sum it up with two words:

Church Scene.

I’m also keeping this limited to wording since I’ve done plenty of spoilers in previous posts in my reviews. Let’s continue on shall we?

WTAF Moments 

I don’t think there was a moment I didn’t say “What the “f—?” as the film began and proceeded. Prominently, one of my favorite scenes, Church Scene, was Harry’s statement right before Valentine’s experiment begins.

Harry Hart: I’m a Catholic whore, currently enjoying congress out of wedlock with my black Jewish boyfriend who works at a military abortion clinic. Hail Satan, and have a lovely afternoon madam.

You can’t get more B.A. than that unless you’ve done something slightly more epic. Colin Firth needs to get credited for an Oscar in this performance. That’s just how I feel about his performance.

The end credits scene was…surprising. I did not have any idea what Vaughn was going to do but even yet, who dedicates the entire film to their mother?!?!

A film of this caliber, I should say.

Whatever, Matthew Vaughn, you…sigh…wanker.

Does the music keep up with the film? 

Henry Jackman has impressed me numerous times with his compositions. These pieces he did alongside Matthew Margeson were astounding. Vaughn must have worked real close with these two to maintain the upkeep for this film. I caught so many little tidbits that made the film worthwhile but I can say the composer from Big Hero 6 has my definite approval of amazing soundtrack. Damn Matthew Vaughn for knowing good collaboration!

Final Words

The last thoughts can be this film has a courtesy of being rated by the 10 out of 10 scale. Now, normally, I haven’t thought about putting this out there, but I will stake I’m now waiting on HONEST Trailers and/or CinemaSins to post their thoughts on this film. There are plot devices that definitely went askew from the plot whereas it makes up for not asking those questions because of the continuity within this action-packed spy/adventure/comedy. The rating gets a 8.7 out of 10 and I, like most of the fandom of comic book nerds and action fans, would definitely hope Mr. Vaughn puts out a sequel involving more of Colin Firth…or Taron Egerton.

I also want to say I’d ask Roxy or Gazelle on a date…I think one of them is older than me…? Eh. That’s life though right?

Trailer:

Leave a comment